I have loved horses since I was a little girl.  My Dad bought my first pony, Scamp, when I was twelve.  It was the happiest day of my life – period!  Scamp was the love of my life, my pride and joy, and we were mates for twenty five years.

Image
Here is Scamp, as I  saw him when we first met.  The year was around 1979 and he belonged to a riding school.


So how does this indulgence of owning and loving horses fit in with a simple life with a goal of self sufficiency?  For me, well I cannot live without horses in my life, it is that simple.  If I need to justify keeping horses on our small farm, then I can sum it up in one word. Poo!  Horses poo, and they poo, a LOT!  This manure is fantastic for the soil.  Because we are completely chemical free, and only feed our pastures lime minerals, seaweed and worm juice, we have very, very healthy populations of both Summer and Winter active dung beetles.  Why not use the manure on the garden?  Well, one must be very fast around here, in order to grab the poo before the dung beetles have turned it into the earth! 😛

Today, the horses in my life are Mojo and Fabrice.  Horse number 3, Banjo McGregor is currently out on loan.  His fantastic capacity for teaching humans, being utilsed elsewhere for the next 6 months!

ImageFabrice is a grey Welsh/Arab and Mojo, a bay Standardbred

