I have three horses here on my wee farm.  I made the tough decision to lease my rescued Standardbred, Banjo McGregor about a month ago.  I have issues with the racing industry, both ‘the gallops’ and ‘the trots’.  One, among many, of the reasons for this is the way horses who are too slow, past their prime or broken down are basically thrown away.  Many end up as pet food, but some are rescued.  My Mojo was a rescue, and some years after he came to live with me, I was compelled to make the eight hour round trip to a little place called Coleambally in NSW to collect another unwanted Standardbred.   This one was apparently, “Too good for the dogger!”  I was horrified! I borrowed a neighbour’s horse float and set off, armed with a great deal of paperwork, as it was at the end of the Equine Influenza outbreak in 2008.  Banjo floated brilliantly and was very easygoing, not even batting an eyelid when he met his first pig!  Standardbreds, in general, are known for their placid temperaments and can make fabulous partners with their humans, excelling in many disciplines aside from harness racing!

Banjo as a 2yo meeting his first pig.

You can see Banjo is in racing condition here on his first day at Baringa Park.  His coat was liver chestnut and he was 14.3hh.

Banjo as a 6yo just prior to his lease about 3 weeks ago.

As you can see, the horse above is totally different from the young 2 year old who first arrived here.  His coat is a rich chocolate colour, due to grazing on our re-mineralised pastures.  He now stands at a massive 16.1hh, and has learned how to be a horse in the past 4 years.

So later today, I am going to collect my horse.  It has been a difficult time for us both, being separated, and as things did not work out for him at his lease home, Banjo is coming home! 😀

