I haven’t been ill for over 12 months.  That’s right, no cold, no ‘flu, nothing!  The reason this is so astonishing,  is that I used to catch a cold or ‘flu every. single. Winter.  and then remain ill for an entire 3 months.  In addition to this, I have suffered from chronic fatigue syndrome in its varying forms for about twenty years!  My journey towards health has been long, boring and convoluted.  In short, I have tried every supplement, been on every diet and eating regime known to mankind, and nothing, nothing, has done any good!  Well, until I happened upon the work of Dr Natasha Campbell McBride and the GAPS protocol.

I have slowly, but surely, begun to heal and seal my gut, the source of all dis-ease.  My body is re-building itself, and I am now on the path of detoxifying, which includes gradually having my toxic, leaking mercury amalgam fillings removed and replaced from my teeth.

The lifestyle of simple, self sufficiency we have set up here at Baringa Park is extremely supportive for someone like me.  The food is organic, fresh and nourishing, there is peace, quiet and calmness, essential for  a person, like myself, who has burned out adrenal glands.

What did I do?  I removed starches, sugars and all grains (yes ALL) from our diet.  I added fermented foods (including kefir and fermented vegetables), bone broth and coconut oil to our diet.  I have learned to manage my stress – this was KEY for me.  I drink raw, organic goat milk every. single. day!

Lately we have been playing around with introducing certain foods back into our diet.  The GAPS protocol is not a ‘forever’ regime.  It is a healing protocol, designed to heal the human system over a period of time.  I originally committed myself to a minimum of 2 years.  We have discovered that small amounts of sweet potato and plain potato (both starches) are tolerated now.  Also well soaked lentils seem fine for the family, although my gut complains a little still.

It is amazing how tuned into our own bodies we are now!

The road has been long and rocky and there is still a way to go.  After all, 20 years of damage cannot be healed overnight! 🙂

Water kefir brewing

Raw goat milk kefir

Fermented chillies

We don’t miss out on baked goods either.  A selection below of some GAPS friendly cooking!

Meringues made using honey in place of sugar

Pancakes made with coconut flour in place of grain flour

Muffins made with coconut flour

Slice made with coconut flour with honey, coconut, lemon frosting

