It’s update time!

We have been downsizing the pig population on the farm with Prince, Penelope and Pitu all moving out.  It was a sad day when we farewelled these three.  You can see them here, when I introduced our herd to you.

Our goats, Violet and Rosa Lee, have also moved onto new pastures, while the addition of a new buck, Astro boy has occurred! 🙂

astro

Astro came from the Collingwood Children’s Farm, in Melbourne, where we sell our pork on a monthly basis.  He is an anglo nubian and just gorgeous.  Don’t you love his ears? 🙂  He is only about 6 months old, so won’t be working just yet.  I don’t actually have any does I need to service this year, since I lost my beautiful Opal, so he is just hanging out with the wethers Milo and Bellamy.

I mentioned kinesiology, well, let me tell you, it is fantastic for the animals!!  I have not told you that I am almost qualified in this modality.  Yep, that’s what I have been doing since my last post in 2012, studying my little heart out!!  I love it!  How is it good for our precious farm creatures?  Well, just on a basic level, I can work out what an animal might require.  Judith our goat had started to get a coppery look to her otherwise black coat.  Now, as a farmer, I know that this usually mean a copper deficiency, but to check I used some kinesiology techniques to determine she required copper PLUS Vitamin B!  Now I didn’t go into an entire balance (kinesiology session) with her, but this gave me a quick guideline as to how to adjust her feed ration.  Sure enough a couple of months later, her coat is perfectly black again! Amazing! 🙂  Another example, I had a couple of crook chooks.  I was able to ascertain that one needed worming and the other had an infection, so required anti-biotics.  Kinesiology does not diagnose, nor does it treat, but we can ask the body what it needs.  Now, of course, as a farmer I know that with chooks it’s usually either a worm burden or an infection, but this way I was able to pinpoint the exact requirements of the individual animal, and administer the minimum medication required, rather than blindly over-dosing.

